We have 🍪Cookies! More information
  • More information in our Privacy Statement

Twee
Sluit
Sluit

On the inspirational power of exceptional people, in the wake of Winnie Mandela.

When do you rebel? When do you sacrifice your personality for the bigger picture? KVS-members Junior Mthombeni, Fikry El Azzouzi and Cesar Janssens connect the stories of nine actresses, singers and performers from the African diaspora with that of Winnie Mandela. In this way, small human stories come together with a larger historical narrative. A production with a lot of music filled with power, hope and fire.

During the battle against apartheid, ANC-member Maurice Mthombeni (father of director Junior Mthombeni) wrote to Winnie Mandela. The letter was intercepted and placed in the national newspaper by the South African pro-apartheid-government to create division within the ANC. Maurice Mthombeni then escaped to Europe to continue the battle there.

For director Junior Mthombeni, the son of an ANC-warrior, Winnie Mandela has always been a symbol for the progressive forces within South Africa, a country divided by apartheid. In modern times, where people seem to understand each other less and less, and the grey area between right and wrong is increasingly shrinking, he believes the time is right to show Winnie Mandela as a source of inspiration. The production isn’t just about Winnie, who, despite humiliation, abuse, mistakes, and exile, continued to resist apartheid with determination. Dear Winnie focuses on the people who are currently undergoing their own battle. Where do they find their sources of strength?

After the celebrated productions Rumble in da jungle, Reizen Jihad and Malcolm X, the story of Winnie Mandela is a logical continuation for Junior Mthombeni, Fikry El Azzouzi and Cesar Janssens. With Dear Winnie, they wish to sow the seeds of inspiration and hope with the audience. Be immersed in this inspiring story through a dazzling, music-filled production.

Language no Problem

This performance is multilingual with Dutch and English surtitles in every venue. So language is not a problem.

 

This performance is a co-production with the KVS (Brussels) and collective Jr.cE.sA.r.

 

Credits
Directed by: Junior Mthombeni
Written by: Fikry El Azzouzi
Music by: Cesar Janssens
Cast: Among others Tutu Puoane, Jade Wheeler, Gloria Boateng, Mahina, Alesandra Seutin, Ntjam Rosie

credits

Junior Mthombeni

Regisseur

Fikry El Azzouzi

Schrijver

Cesar Janssens

Muzikale leiding

Robbert van Heuven

Dramaturg

Gerardo Salinas

Dramaturg

Stef Stessel

Decorontwerper

Stef Stessel

Lichtontwerper

Ralf Nonn

Decorbouw

Danny Vandeput

Decorbouw

Lieve Pynoo

Kostuum ontwerp

tourlist

Sep
Mon 23 Sep 20:30
Agenda

Openbare repetitie Dear Winnie,

Theater de Machinefabriek
Nov
Thu 28 Nov 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie, (try-out)

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 29 Nov 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie, (try-out)

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Sat 30 Nov 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie, (première)

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Dec
Sat 7 Dec 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Wilminktheater Enschede
Wed 11 Dec 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Theater Geert Teis Stadskanaal
Thu 12 Dec 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Schouwburg De Lawei Drachten
Sat 14 Dec 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Theaters Tilburg
Tue 17 Dec 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Stadsschouwburg Haarlem
Wed 18 Dec 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

De Nieuwe Kolk Assen
Jan
Wed 8 Jan 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Theater aan het Vrijthof
Thu 9 Jan 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Schouwburg Rotterdam,Theater Rotterdam
Fri 10 Jan 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Schouwburg Rotterdam,Theater Rotterdam
Sat 11 Jan 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

ITA Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam
Sun 12 Jan 15:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

ITA Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam
Mon 13 Jan 19:30
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

ITA Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam
Thu 16 Jan 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Parkstad Limburg Theaters Kerkrade
Fri 17 Jan 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Stadstheater Arnhem
Fri 24 Jan 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Brussel,KVS, Brussel
Sat 25 Jan 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Brussel,KVS, Brussel
Tue 28 Jan 12:30
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

KVS, Brussel
Wed 29 Jan 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

KVS, Brussel
Thu 30 Jan 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

KVS, Brussel
Fri 31 Jan 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

KVS, Brussel
Feb
Sat 1 Feb 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Brussel,KVS, Brussel
Wed 5 Feb 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Thu 6 Feb 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 7 Feb 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Sat 8 Feb 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Tue 11 Feb 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Koninklijke Schouwburg Den Haag
Wed 12 Feb 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Theater de Voorveghter Hardenberg
Thu 13 Feb 20:30
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Stadsschouwburg De Harmonie Leeuwarden
Sat 15 Feb 20:30
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Chassé Theater Breda
Tue 18 Feb 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Schouwburg Het Park Hoorn
Wed 19 Feb 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Leidse Schouwburg
Fri 21 Feb 20:00
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Stadsschouwburg Utrecht
Mar
Thu 12 Mar 20:15
Agenda

Dear Winnie,

Cultuurhuis De Warande,Turnhout

Feed

14th of June: FridayNITE 2018/2019 Season Closing

22 05 2019

FridayNITE 24th of May

25 03 2019

NITE-LINE: 0629830087

11 03 2019

OPEN 2 NITE: workshops, sneak peek at rehearsal and more!

04 03 2019
More feeds

Sign up for our digital newsletters. Get an update on tour dates, behind the scenes and other interesting suggestions.